I Don’t Do This Lightly…

When I start a book, regardless of my feelings about it I always want to finish it. So it’s with some small amount of frustration that I share with you this: I’m currently reading The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy. And I love it, it’s beautiful and flowing and deserves so much attention to detail because that’s where her story really lives. And, currently, I’m struggling to give it the attention it deserves. For me, it’s more of a winter read. I slow down in that season and I don’t feel quite so eager to breeze through things. I like to take the time to really invest in and feel a story when it’s a cold Boston day. It’s the kind of weather that lends itself to that sort of time investment. Summer, for me, is not that season. I’m going, constantly. To work, outside, on day trips. Summer to me lends itself to quicker reads that grip you for a short period of time and then let go so you can move on to the next adventure. 

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness is not that type of story. And honestly, that’s a strength. So after getting almost 200 pages in and realizing I really haven’t retained much other than the bones of the story and none of the details, I’ve decided to let it rest until later in the year. It’s never easy for me to put something down. But as I said earlier, there are somethings you want to be able to spend more time on. And I think I’ll be very happy when I dive back into it (from the beginning) later on this year or perhaps the beginning of next. 

If it’s a book that’s on your to read list, I’d like to assure you that it should most definitely stay there! Roy has a lot of heart and you can really feel her in the work. If you’re looking for a book that is a little more complex than a beach read… okay a lot more complex than a beach read, this is it! The story is very relevant to India’s political climate currently and its something I want to have the time to Google and look into/research. The number of times I have misunderstood things (totally my own fault for not being more worldly and educated on current international events) or missed the point entirely because I don’t understand something are numerous. I want to read this book when I have the time to look up all of the things I don’t know or understand so that I can really get the most out of the book. 

So I’m going to save it for some less beach-y weather. 

Has anyone else already read this book? What did you guys think?

Leave a Reply

